Posted by: ccarls | August 3, 2008

My Last Camping Trip

This past week, I’ve learned that you never know who might be reading your blog.  I didn’t realize how much some people anticipate a fresh post.  With that in mind, I will try to be a little more diligent.

As promised, I continue to go down the list of requested topics.  Today brings us to my last camping trip.  It was this last April.  Jonah and I went to the annual Father and Son’s Camp Out for our church.  It was only a one night trip, but we had a lot of fun.

We left on Friday afternoon around 5:00pm.  The weather looked a bit ominous as we pulled away from the house.  There were huge thunder clouds swirling in the sky above.  I was hoping it would blow by because Jonah and I were so excited about the trip.  As we drove 45 minutes to Water Mellon Park in the beautiful Shenandoah valley, the thunder clouds evaporated and blue skies appeared.

We set up tent next to our wonderful bishop and his sons. Jonah couldn’t wait to see his cousin, Soren. Those two ran around together as much as they could.  

Audrey had packed us with Bratwurst, chips, drinks, and all the fixings for smores.  Jonah and I had fun cooking these things over the camp fire.  Jonah especially liked the smores.  Audrey’s genius produced a Thermas of cold milk from our cooler.  I enjoyed gulping it down after my third smore.

Later in the evening we all sang hymns together and celebrated the restoration of the priesthood.  Jonah then volunteered me to help cook pancakes in the morning.

Jonah asked to go to bed around 10pm.  The weather was perfect, not too cold, not too hot.  We snuggled in our sleeping bags.  I woke up around 6am to the sound of birds everywhere.  Jonah was sound asleep.  I actually had to wake him up for pancakes. This is highly unusual since Jonah is always the first one up in our family.  We had the yummiest pancakes and sausage for breakfast.  Jonah had seconds on everything.

It was a great experience.  Next year I will bring Samuel with us.  My rule is that you can’t go to the Father/Son’s Camp Out unless you are out of diapers!  Oh and just so you all know- I prefer staying in a really nice hotel, eating food prepared by a chef, to camping any day!

Responses

  1. Pancakes and sausages in the morning is absolutely the best thing about camping trips. Even more so, if someone else gets up early to make them. Yummy!

  2. Didn’t say whether you dug a trench around your tent in case it rained or snakes wanted in…

    Didn’t your father teach you anything?

  3. Ooh, I do love a new post!

    Way to take one for the team on the whole camping thing. Father/Son’s is a great way to give your kids that experience without having to do all the work yourself!

    My last camping trip was at our family reunion two summers ago. I was 7 months pregnant with Amelia, but Dan set me up with a sweet air mattress and I slept great. We have a little “moonroof” in our tent and I love looking out at the stars at night and watching the light stretch across the sky in the morning.

  4. So when are we going camping as a family?

  5. Glad you are back to posting as I see already your loyal fans have commented. I think this camping trip reads like pure son/dad perfection.

    I must admit though that i too prefer a hotel and and someone else to do the cooking but I wouldn’t mind camping with Jonah.

    I still remember the camping trip from hell when we took you kids to Holland in 1981. Does anyone call it Holland anymore?

  6. When you decide to take Audrey camping with you, we’d like to join in. Camping with Audrey is way fun! I’ll even bring RedDog for Jonah to run with!

    Love you bro!

  7. I think the unofficial end of the family (that’s the Andersons) need to come camping too. let’s organize.

  8. Camping was fun before I had two kids that ruined my back. Now sleeping can only be comfortably accomplished on a king size pillow top mattress with lots of pillows!

    You might want to think about posting something new on your blog. I know you are busy but the people need to hear from the Black Sheep.


Leave a Reply

Categories

